By staff writer

The 2017 Abryanz Style and Fashion Awards happened at the Kampala Serena Hotel on Friday evening.

The awards, whose theme this year was ”African Fashion is the Future #FashionTakeover”, were all about recognizing the Africa’s outstanding fashion icons.

The Ciroc-sponsored event was an evening of breath-taking design works and spellbinding musical performances. South African duo Mafikizolo, turned the heat up serving hit after hit, crowning the night with their latest release Love Potion that also bagged them the Most Stylish Video of The Year accolade.

Nonetheless the awards still paid homage to local talent with performances from Ugandan artistes including Desire Luzinda, Nutty Neithan, Fik Fameica and Latinum, among others.

On the local fashion front, Sheeba Kassami (SKP), Monica Kansiime and Alecool Clothing (who bagged the Most Stylish Ugandan celebrity trophy) showcased their creations.

And, perhaps in tune with taking everything a notch higher, this year’s event had winners in 34 different categories, up from the 25 last year.

On a night dominated by glorious performances by artistes on the catwalk and the mic, Cîroc Brand Ambassador for Uganda Brian Ahumuza, who launched the ASFAs in 2013, said ensuring fashion made business sense was the next step.

“This year’s theme, “African Fashion is the Future #FashionTakeover” sought to highlight the entrepreneurial success of the African fashion industry and hopefully translate into the business of fashion,” he said. “Today’s event is an important step in that direction”.

Meanwhile the UBL Reserve and IPS Manager Roger Agamba said: “Cîroc is proud of its association with ASFAs and fashion as a whole in Uganda and indeed Africa. I believe it makes great business sense for everyone involved in the industry and the growth of the ASFAs is an indication that things can only get better.

“Our pledge is to continue to support and celebrate fashion because there couldn’t be a more perfect partner than Cîroc, which is the ultimate celebration drink.”

Here is the full list of winners.

Fashion Designer Of The Year (Uganda)


Fashion Designer Of The Year (Africa)

SheriaNgowi (Tanzania)

Female Model Of The Year (Africa)

ShanelleNyasiase (Kenya)

Female Model Of The Year (Uganda)


Male Model Of The Year (Uganda)

Paul Bradley

Male Model Of The Year ( Africa)

PabzNasius (South Africa)

Makeup Artist Of The Year (Uganda)

Mona Faces

Makeup Artist Of The Year (Africa)

Marco Louis (South Africa)

Hairstylist Of The Year (Uganda)

Nambuusi Maureen

Hairstylist Of The Year (Africa)

Saul Juma (Kenya)

Fashion Photographer Of The Year (Uganda)

Oscar Ntege

Fashion Photographer Of The Year (Africa)

Rezebonna (South Africa)

Stylist Of The Year (Uganda)

Tinah Brad

Stylist Of The Year (Africa)

Swanky Jerry (Nigeria)

Fashion Blogger/ Writer Of The Year (Uganda)

Satisfashion UG

Fashion Blogger/Writer Of The Year (Africa)

Silvia Njoki (Kenya)

Most Stylish/Dressed Female Celebrity (Uganda)

Judith Heard

Most Stylish/Dressed Female Celebrity (Africa)

Nana Akua Addo (Ghana)

Most Stylish/Dressed Male Celebrity (Uganda)


Most Stylish/Dressed Male Celebrity (Africa)

Idris Sultan (Tanzania)

Most Stylish Male Artiste (Uganda)

Bebe Cool

Most Stylish Male Artiste (Africa)

Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Most Stylish Female Artiste (Uganda)


Most Stylish Female Artiste (Africa)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Styled/Fashionable Music Video Of The Year (Uganda)

Jubilation- Eddy Kenzo

Best Styled/ Fashionable Music Video Of The Year (Africa)

Love portion –Mafikizolo

Best Dressed Female Media Personality (Uganda)

Bettinah Tianah

Best Dressed Female Media Personality (Africa)

Anita Nderu (Kenya)

Best Dressed Male Media Personality (Africa)

Jamal Gaddafi (Kenya)

Best Dressed Male Media Personality (Uganda)

Denzel Mwiyeretsi

Male Fashionista Of The Year (Uganda)

Abduz Spot

Male Fashionista Of The Year (Africa)

Eddie Kirindo (Kenya)

Female Fashionista Of The Year(Uganda)


Female Fashionista Of The Year (Africa)

Stefani Roma (Kenya)


Style and Fashion Icon Award

Mai Atafo (Nigeria)